LicensingRegion
Washington
Structured information from official sources. It is not legal advice.
Artists
Recently checked
Tattoo artist license
Licence requiredYes
Temporary licenceNot known
- Guest artists
- The license requirement applies to anyone who charges a fee; the Department of Licensing describes no separate guest or visiting-artist license.
- Fees
- $275 first license; $275 renewal ($385 if late); $275 reinstatement; $5 license print fee.
More details
- Authority
- Washington State Department of Licensing — Tattoo, Body Art, Body Piercing Program
- Registration
- Anyone who charges a fee to tattoo in Washington needs a tattoo artist license from the Department of Licensing: be at least 18 and hold a current, active bloodborne pathogens certificate. Apply online through SecureAccess Washington or by mail.
- Renewal
- Valid for one year after it is issued.
- Training / BBP
- Current and active bloodborne pathogens certificate; courses must comply with OSHA 29 C.F.R. 1910.1030 (WAC 308-22-040(2)).
- Not stated / check
- The Department of Licensing pages reviewed do not describe a temporary or guest license for visiting artists; confirm with the Department before working.
Informational only, not legal advice. Check the official source.
Source: Washington State Department of Licensing — Tattoo, Body Art, Body Piercing ProgramChecked Sep 24, 2026
Studios / establishments
Recently checked
Tattoo shop or mobile unit license
Licence requiredYes
Temporary licenceNo
Official links
- Fees
- $330 per location (first license, renewal, reinstatement or added location); $440 if renewed late; $5 license print fee.
More details
- Authority
- Washington State Department of Licensing — Tattoo, Body Art, Body Piercing Program
- Registration
- Every shop or mobile unit providing tattooing needs a Department of Licensing location license. Requirements include at least $100,000 public liability insurance, registration with the Department of Revenue, an outside entrance separate from residential rooms, adequate toilet facilities, local zoning and fire code compliance.
- Renewal
- Expires one year after it is issued or when the business liability insurance expires, whichever comes first.
Informational only, not legal advice. Check the official source.
Source: Washington State Department of Licensing — Tattoo, Body Art, Body Piercing Program
Events
Recently checked
Event location license (conventions and events)
Licence requiredYes
Temporary licenceNot known
- Guest artists
- The artist license requirement applies to anyone who charges a fee; the Department of Licensing describes no separate event or guest artist license.
- Fees
- $330 per location; $5 license print fee.
More details
- Authority
- Washington State Department of Licensing — Tattoo, Body Art, Body Piercing Program
- Registration
- Tattoo conventions and events in Washington need an event license that meets the same requirements as shop and mobile unit licenses. Artists who charge a fee also need a Washington tattoo artist license.
- Not stated / check
- The Department of Licensing pages reviewed do not state how long an event license lasts; confirm with the Department.
Informational only, not legal advice. Check the official source.
Source: Washington State Department of Licensing — Tattoo, Body Art, Body Piercing Program